What are the Quality category reporting requirements for MIPS?

What is Quality reporting?
Under the Merit-Based Incentive Payment System (MIPS) pathway of the MACRA Quality Payment Program, quality measure reporting will replace PQRS starting in 2017. Quality measure reporting is also one of the four performance categories that will be considered and weighted for scoring a clinician's performance under the Merit-based Incentive Payment System (MIPS). In particular, quality measure reporting will account for 60% of each clinician’s overall MIPS score for the 2017 reporting year (Year 1).

What are the MIPS quality category reporting requirements for 2017?
Under MIPS, eligible clinicians will generally be required to report on 6 quality measures, including an outcome measure, for a minimum of 90 days during the 2017 reporting year. You may choose which measures you wish to report on for your MIPS reporting from the 24 eCQMs that Practice Fusion will continue to support for the 2017 reporting year. The quality measures that will be supported by Practice Fusion in 2017 consist of the following:

  • Preventive Care and Screening: Screening for Clinical Depression and Follow-Up Plan (CMS2v6/NQF 0418)  

  • Preventive Care and Screening: Screening for High Blood Pressure and Follow-Up Documented (CMS22v5/NQF N/A)

  • Closing the referral loop: receipt of specialist report (CMS50v5/NQF N/A)

  • Documentation of Current Medications in the Medical Record (CMS68v6/NQF 0419)

  • Preventive Care and Screening: Body Mass Index (BMI) Screening and Follow-Up (CMS69v5/NQF 0421)

  • Functional Status Assessment for Complex Chronic Conditions (CMS90v6/NQF N/A)

  • Diabetes: Hemoglobin A1c Poor Control (CMS122v5/NQF 0059)

  • Diabetes: Foot Exam (CMS123v5/NQF 0056)

  • Cervical Cancer Screening (CMS124v5/NQF 0032)

  • Breast Cancer Screening (CMS125v5/NQF N/A)

  • Pneumonia Vaccination Status for Older Adults (CMS127v5/NQF 0043)

  • Colorectal Cancer Screening (CMS130v5/ NQF 0034)

  • Diabetes: Eye Exam (CMS131v5/NQF 0055)

  • Preventive Care and Screening: Tobacco Use: Screening and Cessation Intervention (CMS138v5/NQF 0028)

  • Falls: Screening for Future Fall Risk (CMS139v5/NQF 0101)

  • Heart Failure (HF): Beta-Blocker Therapy for Left Ventricular Systolic Dysfunction (LVSD) (CMS144v5/NQF 0083)

  • Preventive Care and Screening: Influenza Immunization (CMS147v6/NQF 0041)

  • Dementia: Cognitive Assessment (CMS149v5)

  • Chlamydia Screening for Women (CMS153v5/NQF 0033)

  • Weight Assessment and Counseling for Nutrition and Physical Activity for Children and Adolescents (CMS155v5/NQF 0024)

  • Use of High-Risk Medications in the Elderly (CMS156v5/NQF 0022)

  • Ischemic Vascular Disease (IVD): Use of Aspirin or Another Antithrombotic (CMS164v5/NQF 0068)

  • Controlling High Blood Pressure (CMS165v5/NQF 0018)

  • Use of Imaging Studies for Low Back Pain (CMS166v6/NQF 0052)

What if I cannot find 6 quality reporting measures relevant to my practice?
If you cannot find 6 quality reporting you wish to report on from those supported by Practice Fusion, you may explore alternative quality measure reporting options available under MIPS. In particular, a clinician participating in MIPS has the option to use a qualified clinical data registry or other registry to extract and submit that clinician’s quality data outside of that clinician’s EHR. Please contact your registry directly for details on how to proceed with this alternative quality measure reporting option.

More information
You can visit Practice Fusion’s Quality Payment Program resource center here.

Further details of the MIPS program requirements can be found here.

CMS also provides further resources about the Quality Payment Program here.

Feedback and Knowledge Base

Still need help?

Create a help ticket