How do I use patient messaging?

With Practice Fusion’s secure messaging, you can communicate and collaborate with your patients, practice staff, and other providers in one place.

How do I turn patient messaging on?
The default setting for patient messaging is off. Any administrator can enable this feature for the entire practice by clicking the Settings and selecting Patient Communications under Patient Engagement.



To opt in to patient messaging, turn on the "Enable secure messaging" toggle button. Enabling or disabling patient messaging will update this setting for the entire practice.
Patient_messaging_enable_V1png  
How do I send a message to a patient?
Within the Messages section of your EHR, click “New Message”. You may also send a message from within the patients chart, by clicking “Send message” from the Actions menu.

Select “Patient” in the To field and begin typing your patient’s name. Any patient that has registered their patient portal account will automatically be populated in the contact list. If you want this message to display in the patient’s chart, choose the applicable patient in the “Regarding Patient” section of the message  and ensure that the “Add to Chart” box is checked.

You may change the default setting for “Adding Messages to Patient’s Charts” to be, please see this article.

After typing your message, simply click Send or Reply.



How can I retrieve a message from a patient?
To view a message within the Messages section, click the thread on the left pane to see the contents of the message in the right pane. Bold indicates that a message is unread.



You may also archive messages, view sent messages, mark a message as urgent or view the history of a message thread.

Which patients can receive messages?
Only patients that have registered their patient portal account will have the ability to send or receive messages. After clicking Send or Reply, your message will appear in the Messages section of their patient portal account.

How can I view messages associated with a specific patient?
Within the patient chart, you have the option to view messages associated with that specific patient from the Summary tab.



Clicking New Message from the patient’s chart  will default to create a new in-practice message associated with that patient. For more information on in-practice messaging, see: How do I use In practice messaging?

How can a patient send a message?

After patient messaging has been enabled by your practice, the patient will need to complete steps to register for their patient portal account. Any patient that has registered their patient portal account will have access to the Messages section in their account (Remember: This is contingent on your practice enabling this feature in the EHR). This will allow them to send messages about prescription refills, appointment changes, quick health questions, or other tasks, saving time for you and your staff.

Based on your feedback, we’ve included a disclaimer informing patients that messages are for non-urgent issues only. The full disclaimer states:
  • Messages are only for non-urgent issues. Call your doctor's office if you need an immediate response. Dial 911 for life-threatening situations
View more information on patient messaging in the patient portal here.

For information on In practice or Network messaging, see: How do I use Messaging?

Feedback and Knowledge Base


Still need help?

Create a help ticket