What is Meaningful Use?

What is Medicaid’s EHR Incentive Program (Meaningful Use)?
Beginning in 2011, the Meaningful Use EHR Incentive Program was developed to encourage eligible professionals to adopt, implement, upgrade (AIU), and demonstrate meaningful use of certified EHR technology to help improve patient care. The Medicaid Meaningful Use program is administered voluntarily by the states, who determine program milestones such as attestation timelines and reporting periods.

Meaningful Use Criteria
To receive an EHR incentive payment under the Medicaid EHR Incentive Program, providers must successfully meet certain meaningful use objectives that CMS has established. During program participation, eligible professionals (EPs) must show that they are using their EHRs in a meaningful way by meeting set thresholds for those objectives.

Please be aware that under the Health Information Technology for Economic and Clinical Health (HITECH) Act of 2009, Program Year 2016 was the last year that EPs could enroll for participation in the Medicaid EHR Incentive Program. As such, enrollment is no longer open for new participants.

For more information, please contact your state Medicaid agency directly.

Meaningful Use Stages
These stages have been established by the Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) to encourage providers to expand upon their EHR usage to further improve care in the US healthcare system.

Stage 1: Basic EHR adoption to capture clinical data electronically.

Stage 2: Promotion of sharing health information between providers and greater patient engagement with their personal electronic records.

Stage 3: Expanding and solidifying Meaningful Use objectives to improve health outcomes. This stage will become mandatory for all EPs in the 2018 reporting year.

Updates to Meaningful Use in 2015
After ongoing feedback from medical providers, professional medical associations, and Congress, the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) released changes to the Meaningful Use program on October 16, 2015. The intended aim of this Final Rule was to reduce the complexity of the EHR Incentive Program and address the many challenges that prevented providers from meeting Stage 2 Meaningful Use requirements.

Starting in 2015, CMS removed Stage 1 from the program in order to simplify the requirements by placing everyone into the same Stage. However, any providers who were previously in Stage 1 for 2015 were placed in Modified Stage 2 which only required them to meet Stage 1 requirements.

Updates to Meaningful Use in 2017
Per CMS, all providers who have not successfully demonstrated meaningful use in a prior year and are seeking to demonstrate meaningful use for the first time in 2017 to avoid the 2018 payment adjustment must attest to Modified Stage 2 objectives and measures.

CMS published changes to the Medicaid EHR Incentive program on August 14, 2017 under the Inpatient Prospective Payment System Final Rule. Eligible professionals are now required to report on any six (6) quality measures applicable to their scope of practice via attestation or electronic submission. Additionally, EPs may select a CQM reporting period of any continuous 90-day period during the 2017 calendar year, regardless of their reporting method. Please be aware that program requirements may vary by state. You should contact your state Medicaid administrator to confirm your state’s requirements for the 2017 reporting year. 

Medicare Providers
The Medicare Access & CHIP Reauthorization Act of 2015 (MACRA) was enacted and replaces the previous Medicare reimbursement schedule with a new pay-for-performance program focused on quality and accountability in patient care. Starting January 1, 2017, eligible Medicare Part B clinicians have entered a new payment framework called the Quality Payment Program, replacing the Sustainable Growth Rate formula. The Quality Payment Program has two paths for participation:

For more information on how eligible clinicians can participate in the Quality Payment Program through these paths in 2017, please click the links above.

More Information
For more information about the Medicaid EHR Incentive Program, you can visit Practice Fusion’s Meaningful Use Center.  

Meaningful Use

  1. What is Meaningful Use?
  2. How does the Meaningful Use Dashboard work?
  3. Medicaid Meaningful Use Stage 2 Objective 1: Protect Patient Health Information
  4. Medicaid Meaningful Use Stage 2 Objective 2: Clinical Decision Support
  5. Medicaid Meaningful Use Stage 2 Objective 3: CPOE for Medication, Lab, and Radiology Orders
  6. Medicaid Meaningful Use Stage 2 Objective 4: Electronic Prescribing (eRx)
  7. Medicaid Meaningful Use Stage 2 Objective 5: Health Information Exchange
  8. Medicaid Meaningful Use Stage 2 Objective 6: Patient-Specific Education
  9. Medicaid Meaningful Use Stage 2 Objective 7: Medication Reconciliation
  10. Medicaid Meaningful Use Stage 2 Objective 8: Patient Electronic Access
  11. Medicaid Meaningful Use Stage 2 Objective 9: Secure Electronic Messaging
  12. Medicaid Meaningful Use Stage 2 Objective 10: Public Health Reporting
  13. Medicaid Meaningful Use Stage 2 Objective 10: Public Health - Immunization Registry Data Submission
  14. Medicaid Meaningful Use Stage 2 Objective 10: Public Health - Syndromic Surveillance Data Submission
  15. Medicaid Meaningful Use Stage 2 Objective 10: Public Health - Specialized Registry Reporting
  16. How do I attest for Meaningful Use?
  17. 2018 Medicaid Meaningful Use Stage 2 Objective 5: Health Information Exchange
  18. What are the Modified Stage 2 Meaningful Use requirements for 2017?
  19. What are the exclusions for Meaningful Use?
  20. What patients are counted for Meaningful Use?
  21. How do the components of a chart note relate to Meaningful Use?
  22. How do I print the Meaningful Use Dashboard?
  23. How do I minimize or refresh CDS notifications?
  24. How can I send a referral using Direct Messaging?
  25. How does patient portal access and auto-invite relate to Meaningful Use?
  26. What constitutes a "unique" patient?
  27. Meaningful Use attestation for previous years
  28. How do Meaningful Use payment adjustments work?
  29. How do I apply for a Meaningful Use Hardship Exception?
  30. How do I find Practice Fusion's CMS EHR Certification ID?
  31. How do I register for the Medicaid Meaningful Use Program?
  32. Can I change, modify, or cancel my attestation?
  33. How do I choose my reporting period duration for Medicaid Meaningful Use?
  34. Is Practice Fusion a certified EHR?
  35. Patient records maintained in the EHR for Meaningful Use attestation
  36. How do I get my AIU letter from Practice Fusion?
  37. How do I report eCQMs for Medicaid Meaningful Use?
  38. Do I have to meet all 10 objectives to achieve Meaningful Use?
  39. Can I participate in both MIPS (Medicare) and Meaningful Use (Medicaid)?
  40. Are there patient education materials available in Spanish?
  41. How do I select or change my reporting period start date?
  42. When do I need to sign chart notes for Meaningful Use? Can I sign a chart after the reporting period?
  43. How do I contact my state about the Medicaid EHR Incentive Program?
  44. How do I qualify for Meaningful Use if I see patients in multiple locations?
  45. How many exclusions can each provider claim for meaningful use?
  46. How do I use multiple EHR's to qualify for Medicaid Meaningful Use?
  47. What stage of Medicaid Meaningful Use am I in?
  48. How do I prepare for the PQRS Penalty Informal Review?
  49. How do I prepare for a Meaningful Use audit?
  50. How do I batch export patient data from the EHR?
  51. How can I report CQMs for PQRS?
  52. Diabetes: Low Density Lipoprotein (LDL) Management (CMS 163v4)
  53. Ischemic Vascular Disease (IVD): Complete Lipid Panel and LDL Control (CMS 182v5)
  54. Use of Appropriate Medications for Asthma (CMS 126v4)

Feedback and Knowledge Base